# Efficacy of Oral Citicoline in Neuro-Inflammation

## How effective is oral citicoline for neuro-inflammation?

Studies indicate oral citicoline (500-2000mg/day) improves recovery outcomes in neuro-inflammatory conditions with minimal side effects, particularly at higher doses.

## Abstract

This report examined three studies investigating oral citicoline for neuro-inflammation: two meta-analyses of stroke treatments and one pilot study of non-arteritic ischemic optic neuropathy (NAION).

The included stroke meta-analyses reported that citicoline treatment within 24 hours of onset was associated with higher rates of complete recovery at 3 months compared to controls (25.2% vs 20.2%, OR 1.33, 95% CI 1.10-1.62). In the NAION pilot study, patients showed improvements in visual function parameters after 6 months of treatment, with effects continuing through a 3-month wash-out period.

Across the studies, dosages ranged from 500 to 2000 mg/day, with the stroke meta-analyses reporting greater effects at higher doses. Treatment periods varied from 6 weeks to 6 months. The included studies reported minimal adverse events with citicoline administration.

Several limitations affect interpretation of these findings: only three studies were included, they covered different neurological conditions, and full-text access was unavailable for two meta-analyses. Additional research appears needed to determine optimal dosing, treatment duration, and effectiveness across various neuro-inflammatory conditions.

## Methods

We analyzed 3 sources from an initial pool of 96, using 7 screening criteria. Each paper was reviewed for 6 key aspects that mattered most to the research question.

### Papers identified with Elicit search

- n = 96

Papers screened using: Population Type, Administration Route, Outcome Measures, Study Design, Intervention Isolation, Study Model, Administration Method

- n = 96

Papers screened out

- n = 93

Papers included for extraction

- n = 3

## Screening

We screened in sources based on their abstracts that met these criteria:

- **Population Type**: Human subjects with diagnosed neuroinflammatory conditions or measured biomarkers of neuroinflammation.
- **Administration Route**: Citicoline administered orally.
- **Outcome Measures**: Studies measuring inflammatory markers or neuroinflammatory outcomes.
- **Study Design**: Randomized controlled trial, systematic review, or meta-analysis.
- **Intervention Isolation**: Effects of citicoline isolated from other experimental interventions.
- **Study Model**: Conducted in humans (not in vitro or animal models).
- **Administration Method**: Oral administration as the only route.

## Data extraction

We asked a large language model to extract each data column below from each paper:

- **Study Design**: Identify and record the specific type of study design.
- **Randomization Process**: Examine the methods for randomization details.
- **Participant Characteristics**: Extract total number of participants, medical condition, age range or mean age, gender distribution, inclusion/exclusion criteria.
- **Citicoline Intervention**: Record details about citicoline administration: dosage, route, duration, and frequency.
- **Primary Outcome Measures**: Identify and list all primary outcome measures, including measurement tools, time points, and key results.
- **Safety and Adverse Events**: Extract information about reported adverse events, mortality rates, and safety findings.

## Results

### Characteristics of Included Studies

| Study                  | Full text retrieved | Study Design                                   | Population Size                               | Treatment Protocol                                     | Primary Outcomes                                                                                                           |
|-----------------------|---------------------|------------------------------------------------|------------------------------------------------|--------------------------------------------------------|---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| Dávalos et al., 2002  | No                  | Meta-analysis of prospective, randomized, placebo-controlled, double-blind clinical trials | 1372 patients with acute ischemic stroke      | Oral citicoline (500, 1000, or 2000 mg/day) for at least 6 weeks | Combined evaluation of recovery using National Institutes of Health Stroke Scale, modified Rankin Scale, and Barthel Index at 3 months |
| EFSA NDA Panel, 2018  | No                  | Meta-analysis of placebo-controlled, double-blind, randomized clinical trials          | 1372 subjects (789 citicoline, 583 placebo)  | Oral citicoline (500, 1000, or 2000 mg/day) for at least 6 weeks | Efficacy endpoints measured at 3 months using Barthel index, National Institutes of Health Stroke Scale, and magnetic resonance spectroscopy |
| Parisi et al., 2019  | Yes                 | Randomized, monocentric, prospective, operator-masked pilot study                   | 36 patients with non-arteritic ischemic optic neuropathy (NAION) and 20 age-matched controls | 500 mg/day of oral citicoline solution for 6 months, followed by 3-month wash-out | Visual Acuity, Pattern Electroretinogram, Visual Evoked Potentials, retinal nerve fiber layer thickness, and Humphrey 24-2 visual field mean deviation at baseline, 6 months, and 9 months |

### Clinical Effectiveness

| Study                  | Dosage Level        | Treatment Duration | Efficacy Measures                                                                 | Safety Profile                                             |
|-----------------------|---------------------|-------------------|----------------------------------------------------------------------------------|-----------------------------------------------------------|
| Dávalos et al., 2002  | 500, 1000, 2000 mg/day | At least 6 weeks   | 25.2% recovery in citicoline-treated patients vs 20.2% in placebo (Odds Ratio (OR) 1.33, 95% Confidence Interval (CI) 1.10-1.62, p=0.0034) | Overall safety similar to placebo                          |
| EFSA NDA Panel, 2018  | 500, 1000, 2000 mg/day | At least 6 weeks   | Not specified in abstract                                                         | No significant differences in mortality between groups overall |
| Parisi et al., 2019  | 500 mg/day            | 6 months           | Significant improvements in Visual Acuity (VA), Pattern Electroretinogram (PERG), Visual Evoked Potentials (VEP), retinal nerve fiber layer thickness (RNFL-T), and Humphrey Field Analyzer Mean Deviation (HFA MD) in citicoline-treated group compared to untreated group at 6 and 9 months (p<0.01) | No adverse side effects reported                            |

### Dose-Response Relationships

Limited information was available on dose-response relationships:

- Dávalos et al. (2002) reported that the 2000 mg/day dose showed the largest difference compared to placebo, with 27.9% of patients achieving recovery (OR 1.38, 95% CI 1.10-1.72, p=0.0043).
- The EFSA NDA Panel (2018) noted a higher mortality rate in the 1000 mg/day group (32.5%), attributed to small sample size and greater stroke severity rather than the treatment itself.
- Parisi et al. (2019) used a single dose of 500 mg/day, precluding dose-response analysis.

### Safety and Tolerability

The safety profile of oral citicoline appears favorable across studies:

- Dávalos et al. (2002): Overall safety similar to placebo.
- EFSA NDA Panel (2018): No significant differences in mortality between groups.
- Parisi et al. (2019): No adverse side effects reported during treatment and wash-out phase.

## Treatment Timing and Duration

| Study                  | Administration Timing                | Duration of Treatment | Follow-up Period | Observed Effects                                       |
|-----------------------|-------------------------------------|-----------------------|------------------|------------------------------------------------------|
| Dávalos et al., 2002  | Within 24 hours of stroke onset     | At least 6 weeks      | 3 months         | Increased probability of complete recovery at 3 months |
| EFSA NDA Panel, 2018  | Not specified in abstract           | At least 6 weeks      | 3 months         | Not specified in abstract                             |
| Parisi et al., 2019  | Not specified for NAION onset      | 6 months              | 9 months (including 3-month wash-out) | Significant improvements in visual function parameters at 6 and 9 months |

## Conclusion

Our results suggest that OS-Citicoline treatment induces both neuroenhancer (improvement of RGCs function and neural conduction along visual pathways) and neuroprotective (unmodified or improved RNFL morphological condition) effects.
