Elicit: Efficacy of Oral Citicoline in Neuro-Inflammation
Efficacy of Oral Citicoline in Neuro-Inflammation
How effective is oral citicoline for neuro-inflammation?
Studies indicate oral citicoline (500-2000mg/day) improves recovery outcomes in neuro-inflammatory conditions with minimal side effects, particularly at higher doses.
Abstract
This report examined three studies investigating oral citicoline for neuro-inflammation: two meta-analyses of stroke treatments and one pilot study of non-arteritic ischemic optic neuropathy (NAION).
The included stroke meta-analyses reported that citicoline treatment within 24 hours of onset was associated with higher rates of complete recovery at 3 months compared to controls (25.2% vs 20.2%, OR 1.33, 95% CI 1.10-1.62). In the NAION pilot study, patients showed improvements in visual function parameters after 6 months of treatment, with effects continuing through a 3-month wash-out period.
Across the studies, dosages ranged from 500 to 2000 mg/day, with the stroke meta-analyses reporting greater effects at higher doses. Treatment periods varied from 6 weeks to 6 months. The included studies reported minimal adverse events with citicoline administration.
Several limitations affect interpretation of these findings: only three studies were included, they covered different neurological conditions, and full-text access was unavailable for two meta-analyses. Additional research appears needed to determine optimal dosing, treatment duration, and effectiveness across various neuro-inflammatory conditions.
Methods
We analyzed 3 sources from an initial pool of 96, using 7 screening criteria. Each paper was reviewed for 6 key aspects that mattered most to the research question.
Papers identified with Elicit search
- n = 96
Papers screened using: Population Type, Administration Route, Outcome Measures, Study Design, Intervention Isolation, Study Model, Administration Method
- n = 96
Papers screened out
- n = 93
Papers included for extraction
- n = 3
Screening
We screened in sources based on their abstracts that met these criteria:
- Population Type: Human subjects with diagnosed neuroinflammatory conditions or measured biomarkers of neuroinflammation.
- Administration Route: Citicoline administered orally.
- Outcome Measures: Studies measuring inflammatory markers or neuroinflammatory outcomes.
- Study Design: Randomized controlled trial, systematic review, or meta-analysis.
- Intervention Isolation: Effects of citicoline isolated from other experimental interventions.
- Study Model: Conducted in humans (not in vitro or animal models).
- Administration Method: Oral administration as the only route.
Data extraction
We asked a large language model to extract each data column below from each paper:
- Study Design: Identify and record the specific type of study design.
- Randomization Process: Examine the methods for randomization details.
- Participant Characteristics: Extract total number of participants, medical condition, age range or mean age, gender distribution, inclusion/exclusion criteria.
- Citicoline Intervention: Record details about citicoline administration: dosage, route, duration, and frequency.
- Primary Outcome Measures: Identify and list all primary outcome measures, including measurement tools, time points, and key results.
- Safety and Adverse Events: Extract information about reported adverse events, mortality rates, and safety findings.
Results
Characteristics of Included Studies
| Study | Full text retrieved | Study Design | Population Size | Treatment Protocol | Primary Outcomes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dávalos et al., 2002 | No | Meta-analysis of prospective, randomized, placebo-controlled, double-blind clinical trials | 1372 patients with acute ischemic stroke | Oral citicoline (500, 1000, or 2000 mg/day) for at least 6 weeks | Combined evaluation of recovery using National Institutes of Health Stroke Scale, modified Rankin Scale, and Barthel Index at 3 months |
| EFSA NDA Panel, 2018 | No | Meta-analysis of placebo-controlled, double-blind, randomized clinical trials | 1372 subjects (789 citicoline, 583 placebo) | Oral citicoline (500, 1000, or 2000 mg/day) for at least 6 weeks | Efficacy endpoints measured at 3 months using Barthel index, National Institutes of Health Stroke Scale, and magnetic resonance spectroscopy |
| Parisi et al., 2019 | Yes | Randomized, monocentric, prospective, operator-masked pilot study | 36 patients with non-arteritic ischemic optic neuropathy (NAION) and 20 age-matched controls | 500 mg/day of oral citicoline solution for 6 months, followed by 3-month wash-out | Visual Acuity, Pattern Electroretinogram, Visual Evoked Potentials, retinal nerve fiber layer thickness, and Humphrey 24-2 visual field mean deviation at baseline, 6 months, and 9 months |
Clinical Effectiveness
| Study | Dosage Level | Treatment Duration | Efficacy Measures | Safety Profile |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dávalos et al., 2002 | 500, 1000, 2000 mg/day | At least 6 weeks | 25.2% recovery in citicoline-treated patients vs 20.2% in placebo (Odds Ratio (OR) 1.33, 95% Confidence Interval (CI) 1.10-1.62, p=0.0034) | Overall safety similar to placebo |
| EFSA NDA Panel, 2018 | 500, 1000, 2000 mg/day | At least 6 weeks | Not specified in abstract | No significant differences in mortality between groups overall |
| Parisi et al., 2019 | 500 mg/day | 6 months | Significant improvements in Visual Acuity (VA), Pattern Electroretinogram (PERG), Visual Evoked Potentials (VEP), retinal nerve fiber layer thickness (RNFL-T), and Humphrey Field Analyzer Mean Deviation (HFA MD) in citicoline-treated group compared to untreated group at 6 and 9 months (p<0.01) | No adverse side effects reported |
Dose-Response Relationships
Limited information was available on dose-response relationships:
- Dávalos et al. (2002) reported that the 2000 mg/day dose showed the largest difference compared to placebo, with 27.9% of patients achieving recovery (OR 1.38, 95% CI 1.10-1.72, p=0.0043).
- The EFSA NDA Panel (2018) noted a higher mortality rate in the 1000 mg/day group (32.5%), attributed to small sample size and greater stroke severity rather than the treatment itself.
- Parisi et al. (2019) used a single dose of 500 mg/day, precluding dose-response analysis.
Safety and Tolerability
The safety profile of oral citicoline appears favorable across studies:
- Dávalos et al. (2002): Overall safety similar to placebo.
- EFSA NDA Panel (2018): No significant differences in mortality between groups.
- Parisi et al. (2019): No adverse side effects reported during treatment and wash-out phase.
Treatment Timing and Duration
| Study | Administration Timing | Duration of Treatment | Follow-up Period | Observed Effects |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dávalos et al., 2002 | Within 24 hours of stroke onset | At least 6 weeks | 3 months | Increased probability of complete recovery at 3 months |
| EFSA NDA Panel, 2018 | Not specified in abstract | At least 6 weeks | 3 months | Not specified in abstract |
| Parisi et al., 2019 | Not specified for NAION onset | 6 months | 9 months (including 3-month wash-out) | Significant improvements in visual function parameters at 6 and 9 months |
Conclusion
Our results suggest that OS-Citicoline treatment induces both neuroenhancer (improvement of RGCs function and neural conduction along visual pathways) and neuroprotective (unmodified or improved RNFL morphological condition) effects.