Elicit: Efficacy of Oral Citicoline in Neuro-Inflammation
Efficacy of Oral Citicoline in Neuro-Inflammation
How effective is oral citicoline for neuro-inflammation?
Studies indicate oral citicoline (500-2000mg/day) improves recovery outcomes in neuro-inflammatory conditions with minimal side effects, particularly at higher doses.
Abstract
This report examined three studies investigating oral citicoline for neuro-inflammation: two meta-analyses of stroke treatments and one pilot study of non-arteritic ischemic optic neuropathy (NAION).
The included stroke meta-analyses reported that citicoline treatment within 24 hours of onset was associated with higher rates of complete recovery at 3 months compared to controls (25.2% vs 20.2%, OR 1.33, 95% CI 1.10-1.62). In the NAION pilot study, patients showed improvements in visual function parameters after 6 months of treatment, with effects continuing through a 3-month wash-out period.
Across the studies, dosages ranged from 500 to 2000 mg/day, with the stroke meta-analyses reporting greater effects at higher doses. Treatment periods varied from 6 weeks to 6 months. The included studies reported minimal adverse events with citicoline administration.
Several limitations affect interpretation of these findings: only three studies were included, they covered different neurological conditions, and full-text access was unavailable for two meta-analyses. Additional research appears needed to determine optimal dosing, treatment duration, and effectiveness across various neuro-inflammatory conditions.
Methods
We analyzed 3 sources from an initial pool of 96, using 7 screening criteria. Each paper was reviewed for 6 key aspects that mattered most to the research question.
Papers identified with Elicit search
- n = 96
Papers screened using:
- Population Type
- Administration Route
- Outcome Measures
- Study Design
- Intervention Isolation
- Study Model
- Administration Method
Papers screened out
- n = 93
Papers included for extraction
- n = 3
Paper search
Using your research question “How effective is oral citicoline for neuro-inflammation?”, we searched across over 126 million academic papers from the Semantic Scholar corpus. We retrieved the 96 papers most relevant to the query.
Screening
We screened in sources based on their abstracts that met these criteria:
- Population Type: Does the study involve human subjects with diagnosed neuroinflammatory conditions or measured biomarkers of neuroinflammation?
- Administration Route: Was citicoline administered orally in the study?
- Outcome Measures: Does the study measure inflammatory markers or neuroinflammatory outcomes?
- Study Design: Is the study a randomized controlled trial, systematic review, or meta-analysis?
- Intervention Isolation: Can the effects of citicoline be isolated from other experimental interventions in the study design?
- Study Model: Is the study conducted in humans (not in vitro or animal models)?
- Administration Method: Is oral administration the only route of citicoline delivery used in the study?
We considered all screening questions together and made a holistic judgement about whether to screen in each paper.
Data extraction
We asked a large language model to extract each data column below from each paper. We gave the model the extraction instructions shown below for each column.
Study Design: Identify and record the specific type of study design. Look for key descriptors in the methods section such as:
- Randomized controlled trial
- Placebo-controlled
- Double-blind
- Prospective
- Pilot study
Randomization Process: Examine the methods section for details about randomization:
- Describe the randomization method.
- Note whether the randomization process was described as “accurate” or “appropriate”.
- If no details are provided, write “randomization method not described”.
Participant Characteristics: Extract details of total number of participants, medical condition, age range, gender distribution, inclusion and exclusion criteria. If any of these details are missing, note “not reported” for that specific characteristic.
Citicoline Intervention: Record details about citicoline administration, including dosage, route, duration, and frequency. If multiple dosage groups exist, list each separately.
Primary Outcome Measures: Identify and list all primary outcomes, measurement tools used, time points of assessment, and key results. Extract exact numerical results when possible. If outcomes are not clearly defined, note “primary outcomes not clearly specified”.
Safety and Adverse Events: Extract information about reported adverse events, mortality rates, significant safety findings, and comparison between intervention and control groups. If no safety information is reported, write “safety data not reported”.
Results
Characteristics of Included Studies
| Study | Full text retrieved | Study Design | Population Size | Treatment Protocol | Primary Outcomes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dávalos et al., 2002 | No | Meta-analysis of prospective, randomized, placebo-controlled, double-blind clinical trials | 1372 patients with acute ischemic stroke | Oral citicoline (500, 1000, or 2000 mg/day) for at least 6 weeks | Combined evaluation of recovery using NIH Stroke Scale, modified Rankin Scale, and Barthel Index at 3 months |
| EFSA NDA Panel, 2018 | No | Meta-analysis of placebo-controlled, double-blind, randomized clinical trials | 1372 subjects (789 citicoline, 583 placebo) | Oral citicoline (500, 1000, or 2000 mg/day) for at least 6 weeks | Efficacy endpoints measured using Barthel index, NIH Stroke Scale, and magnetic resonance spectroscopy |
| Parisi et al., 2019 | Yes | Randomized, monocentric, prospective, operator-masked pilot study | 36 patients with NAION and 20 age-matched controls | 500 mg/day of oral citicoline solution for 6 months, followed by 3-month wash-out | Visual Acuity, Pattern Electroretinogram, Visual Evoked Potentials, retinal nerve fiber layer thickness, and Humphrey 24-2 visual field mean deviation at 6 months and 9 months |
Key characteristics of the included studies:
- Study designs: Two meta-analyses, One randomized controlled trial
- Population sizes: Two studies included 1372 patients/subjects, One study had 56 participants (36 patients and 20 controls)
- Treatment protocols: All studies used oral citicoline with dosages of 500, 1000, or 2000 mg/day, treatment duration was at least 6 weeks for two studies, and one study lasted 6 months followed by a 3-month wash-out period.
- Primary outcomes: Varied across studies, generally included measures of recovery or improvement in neurological and visual function scales.