# CDK4/6 Inhibition and G1 to S Arrest

## Palbociclib consistently induces G1 to S cell cycle arrest through CDK4/6 inhibition and Rb pathway blockade, achieving complete arrest in 87-90% of Rb-proficient hormone receptor-positive breast cancers, though the arrest is cytostatic and requires continuous therapy to maintain.

# Abstract

Palbociclib consistently induces G1 to S phase cell cycle arrest across multiple cancer types through inhibition of CDK4/6, preventing retinoblastoma (Rb) phosphorylation and suppressing E2F-target gene expression. In neoadjuvant trials of hormone receptor-positive breast cancer, complete cell cycle arrest (Ki-67 ≤2.7%) was achieved in 87-90% of patients when palbociclib was combined with endocrine therapy, representing a threefold increase over endocrine therapy alone. This profound antiproliferative effect translated to clinically meaningful progression-free survival benefits in advanced disease, with median PFS of 9.2 months versus 3.8 months for combination therapy versus endocrine therapy alone (HR 0.42). However, the arrest is cytostatic rather than cytotoxic—concurrent suppression of apoptosis limits tumor regression, and continuous therapy is necessary to maintain cell cycle arrest as discontinuation allows Ki-67 rebound. Mechanistically, response depends on intact Rb function, with RB1 loss conferring complete resistance, while high cyclin E levels and elevated CDK2 activity enable G1/S bypass. Sustained mTORC1 activity during palbociclib treatment converts reversible arrest to irreversible senescence, and autophagy induction serves as an adaptive resistance mechanism that can be targeted through combination strategies.

The clinical benefit of palbociclib-induced G1 arrest is biomarker-dependent and context-specific. Tumors with intact Rb, absent or low cyclin E (particularly low-molecular-weight isoforms), and adequate p27 levels demonstrate maximal sensitivity, with progression-free survival exceeding 400 months in optimally selected populations. Grade 3/4 neutropenia occurs in 51-62% of patients but is largely asymptomatic, with febrile neutropenia rates of only 0.6% and treatment discontinuation rates of 2.6%. Combination strategies targeting autophagy, PI3K/MEK signaling, or mTORC1 can overcome resistance mechanisms in biomarker-selected populations. The evidence demonstrates that palbociclib reliably induces G1 arrest in Rb-proficient cells, but durable clinical benefit requires continuous dosing, appropriate biomarker selection, and in some contexts, rational combination therapy to prevent adaptive resistance.

## Methods

We analyzed 10 sources from an initial pool of 200, using 8 screening criteria. Each paper was reviewed for 8 key aspects that mattered most to the research question. More on methods

## Paper search

We performed a semantic search across over 138 million academic papers from the Elicit search engine, which includes all of [Semantic Scholar](https://www.semanticscholar.org/) and [OpenAlex](https://openalex.org/).

We ran this query: “CDK4/6 inhibition cell-cycle arrest G1 to S palbociclib”

## Results

### Characteristics of Included Studies

The systematic review included 10 studies examining CDK4/6 inhibition by palbociclib and its effects on G1 to S phase cell cycle arrest. Studies comprised 6 clinical trials and 4 preclinical investigations.

| Study             | Full Text Retrieved? | Study Type                     | Cancer Type and Subtype                | Sample Size                      | Setting                             |
|-------------------|----------------------|----------------------------------|-------------------------------------|------------------------------------|-------------------------------------|
| Ma et al., 2017   | Yes                  | Phase II neoadjuvant clinical trial | ER+/HER2- breast cancer           | 50 patients (18 premenopausal, 32 postmenopausal) | Clinical stage II-III patients     |
| Johnston et al., 2019 | Yes            | Phase II randomized trial         | ER+/HER2- breast cancer           | 307 patients                      | Postmenopausal women with primary tumors ≥2.0 cm |
| Arnedos et al., 2018 | No              | Randomized clinical trial          | Early breast cancer (93% HR+, 8% HER2+) | 74 palbociclib, 26 control       | Early breast cancer patients         |
| Maskey et al., 2020 | Yes              | Preclinical, in vitro            | ER+ breast cancer                  | Multiple cell lines (MCF7, T47D, CAMA1) | ER+ breast cancer cell lines       |
| Turner et al., 2015 | Yes              | Phase 3 clinical trial           | Advanced HR+/HER2- breast cancer   | 521 patients                      | Pre- and postmenopausal women with relapsed/progressed disease |
| Vijayaraghavan et al., 2017 | Yes      | Preclinical (in vitro, in vivo) and clinical cohort | ER+ breast cancer and other solid tumors | 109 patients in clinical cohort; multiple cell lines and xenografts | Cell lines (MCF7, T47D, ZR75-1), xenografts, advanced ER+ breast cancer patients |
| DeMichele et al., 2014 | No         | Phase II clinical trial           | Advanced breast cancer (84% HR+/HER2-, 5% HR+/HER2+, 11% HR-/HER2-) | 37 patients                      | Metastatic breast cancer, Rb+ with measurable disease |
| Tien & Sadar, 2021 | No               | Preclinical                       | Castration-resistant prostate cancer  | Not mentioned                    | Human xenografts and cultured cells |
| Asghar et al., 2017 | Yes              | Preclinical                       | Triple-negative breast cancer (TNBC), LAR subtype | Multiple cell lines and xenografts | TNBC cell lines and MDA-MB-453 LAR xenografts |
| Kumarasamy et al., 2020 | No            | Preclinical                       | ER+ breast cancer and pancreatic cancer | Not mentioned                    | ER+ xenografts and pancreatic cancer PDX models |

### Treatment Regimens

Palbociclib dosing across studies followed established protocols, with clinical trials consistently using 125 mg daily on a 21-days-on, 7-days-off schedule, while preclinical studies utilized concentrations ranging from 500 nM to 1 μM in vitro.

| Study             | Palbociclib Dose and Schedule    | Duration                    | Combination Therapy                           | Route                             |
|-------------------|---------------------------------|---------------------------|--------------------------------------------|-----------------------------------|
| Ma et al., 2017   | 125 mg daily, days 1-21 of 28-day cycle | Four 28-day cycles, plus optional 10-12 day cycle 5 | Anastrozole 1 mg daily; goserelin if premenopausal | Oral                             |
| Johnston et al., 2019 | 125 mg/day, 21-days-on, 7-days-off | 14 weeks                 | Letrozole                                   | Oral                             |
| Arnedos et al., 2018 | 125 mg daily                     | 14 days until day before surgery | None mentioned                           | Oral                             |
| Maskey et al., 2020 | 500 nM                           | 48 hours and various durations | Approved with endocrine therapies clinically, not specified in study | Added to cell culture medium     |
| Turner et al., 2015 | Not mentioned                    | Not mentioned             | Fulvestrant; goserelin for pre/perimenopausal women | Not mentioned                   |
| Vijayaraghavan et al., 2017 | In vitro: ≤1 μM for 6 days; In vivo: 25 mg/kg/day for 7 days | In vitro: 6 days treatment + 4 days recovery; In vivo: 7 days | Autophagy inhibitor HCQ                      | Oral gavage (in vivo)            |
| DeMichele et al., 2014 | 125 mg orally, days 1-21 of 28-day cycle | Not mentioned             | Not mentioned                               | Oral                             |
| Tien & Sadar, 2021 | Not mentioned                    | Not mentioned             | EPI-7170 (sequential or concomitant)      | Not mentioned                   |
| Asghar et al., 2017 | In vitro: 500 nM; In vivo: 50 mg/kg daily | In vitro: ≥2 weeks; In vivo: 21 consecutive days | Pictilisib, taselisib, AZD2014              | Oral (in vivo)                   |
| Kumarasamy et al., 2020 | Not mentioned                    | Not mentioned             | MEK inhibitor in pancreatic cancer PDX models | Not mentioned                   |

### Cell Cycle Arrest and Proliferation Markers

Palbociclib consistently induced profound suppression of cellular proliferation across studies, with Ki-67 serving as the primary biomarker for cell cycle arrest.

| Study             | Ki-67 Baseline                    | Ki-67 Post-Treatment      | % Change/CCCA Rate                       | Time Points                      | Other Markers                         |
|-------------------|-----------------------------------|---------------------------|------------------------------------------|----------------------------------|--------------------------------------|
| Ma et al., 2017   | C0D1                              | C1D1 (anastrozole alone), C1D15 (palbociclib added) | CCCA rate: 26% (C1D1) vs 87% (C1D15) | Baseline, C1D1, C1D15, surgery     | PAM50 11-gene proliferation score   |
| Johnston et al., 2019 | Baseline                       | 14 weeks                 | Median log-fold change: -4.1 (palbociclib+letrozole) vs -2.2 (letrozole); Geometric mean: -97.4% vs -88.5%; CCCA: 90% vs 59% | Baseline, 2 weeks, 14 weeks     | None mentioned                       |
| Arnedos et al., 2018 | Day 1                          | Day 15                   | Antiproliferative response: 58% (palbociclib) vs 12% (control) | Day 15                          | Phospho-Rb                          |
| Maskey et al., 2020 | Not mentioned                   | 48 hours                 | Not mentioned                            | 48 hours for DNA content         | Cell cycle phase distribution measured using DAPI staining |
| Turner et al., 2015 | Not mentioned                   | Not mentioned             | Not mentioned                            | Not mentioned                    | Not mentioned                         |
| Vijayaraghavan et al., 2017 | Not mentioned               | After treatment and recovery phases | Palbociclib induced G1 arrest; CCCA achieved in 90% at appropriate doses | Not mentioned | BrdU (decreased in palbociclib-treated cells); Cell cycle phase distribution by propidium iodide |
| DeMichele et al., 2014 | Not mentioned                 | Not mentioned             | Not mentioned                            | Not mentioned                    | Not mentioned                         |
| Tien & Sadar, 2021 | Not mentioned                   | Not mentioned             | Doubling time increased to >63 hours vs 25 hours (control) | Not mentioned                    | Cell cycle phase distribution: combination prevented G1 and G2-M progression, caused S-phase arrest |
| Asghar et al., 2017 | Not mentioned                   | 48 hours post-treatment   | Cell cycle length: 20 hours (vehicle) vs 38 hours (palbociclib) in CDK2 high cells | 2 hours post-cytokinesis, 48 hours post-treatment | CDK2 activity reporter               |
| Kumarasamy et al., 2020 | Not mentioned                 | Not mentioned             | Not mentioned                            | Not mentioned                    | Not mentioned                         |

### Mechanistic Foundations of Cell Cycle Arrest

Multiple studies investigated the molecular mechanisms by which palbociclib induces G1 arrest, with particular focus on the Rb pathway and downstream effectors.

**Rb Pathway Modulation**

Retinoblastoma (Rb) phosphorylation emerged as a central mechanistic determinant. Arnedos et al. demonstrated that palbociclib treatment led to significantly greater decreases in phospho-Rb compared to control, and changes in Ki67 correlated with changes in phospho-Rb (Spearman r=0.41). This relationship between Rb dephosphorylation and antiproliferative response suggests that early decreases in Rb phosphorylation could potentially identify patients with primary resistance. Kumarasamy et al. confirmed that activation of RB and inhibition of CDK2 activity emerged as determinants of sensitivity to CDK4/6 inhibition, with RB loss rendering cells completely independent of CDK4 and CDK6.

**Clinical Outcomes**

Clinical efficacy varied by disease setting, with the most robust data emerging from trials in hormone receptor-positive breast cancer.

**Neoadjuvant Setting**

| Study             | Clinical Response Rate            | Pathological Response    | Time-Based Outcomes       | Maintenance of Arrest               |
|-------------------|---------------------------------|-------------------------|----------------------------|------------------------------------|
| Ma et al., 2017   | 80% (exam), 41% (ultrasound), 52% (mammogram) | No pathologic complete responses; significant reduction in tumor stages | Not mentioned              | Continuous therapy necessary to maintain CCCA |
| Johnston et al., 2019 | CR+PR: 54.3% (palbociclib+letrozole) vs 49.5% (letrozole); PD: 3.2% vs 5.4% | Not mentioned            | Not mentioned              | Not mentioned                      |
| Arnedos et al., 2018 | Antiproliferative response: 58% (palbociclib) vs 12% (control); Ki67 decrease significant | Not mentioned            | Not mentioned              | Not mentioned                      |

**Advanced Disease Setting**

| Study             | CBR                              | PFS                       | Overall Survival             | Response Duration                   |
|-------------------|---------------------------------|---------------------------|-------------------------------|------------------------------------|
| Turner et al., 2015 | Not mentioned                    | Median 9.2 months (palbociclib+fulvestrant) vs 3.8 months (placebo+fulvestrant); HR 0.42 | Not mentioned              | Not mentioned                  |
| Vijayaraghavan et al., 2017 | Not mentioned               | Palbociclib doubles PFS vs letrozole or fulvestrant alone; Rb+/LMWE- tumors: median 436.5 months with letrozole, 10.7 months with fulvestrant | Not mentioned              | Not mentioned                  |
| DeMichele et al., 2014 | 19% overall, 21% in HR+, 29% in HR+/HER2- with ≥2 prior endocrine therapies | Median 3.7 months overall | Not mentioned              | Not mentioned                     |

### Cellular Consequences and Senescence Phenotypes

Studies revealed heterogeneity in cellular responses to CDK4/6 inhibition, with some cell lines undergoing reversible arrest while others entered irreversible senescence.

**Reversibility of Growth Arrest**

Maskey et al. demonstrated that ER+ breast cancer cell lines exhibited distinct responses to palbociclib: MCF7 and T47D cells showed reversible G1-phase arrest with an incomplete senescence phenotype, whereas CAMA1 cells underwent irreversible cell cycle arrest and complete senescence. This difference correlated with mTORC1 signaling patterns, with sustained activity promoting complete senescence. Ma et al. confirmed the reversibility in clinical samples, showing that Ki67 levels rebounded at surgery after palbociclib discontinuation, though this rebound was suppressed by continuing palbociclib therapy.

**Predictive Biomarkers and Resistance Mechanisms**

Substantial heterogeneity in treatment response prompted investigation of predictive biomarkers and resistance pathways.

**Rb Status as a Core Biomarker**

Retinoblastoma status emerged as the most fundamental predictor of response. Ma et al. identified RB1 mutations, particularly frameshift mutations, as associated with resistance to palbociclib in HER2-enriched tumors, though missense RB1 mutations were found in tumors sensitive to treatment. Kumarasamy et al. confirmed that RB loss rendered cells completely independent of CDK4/6 activity, with RB phosphorylation status serving as a marker for treatment failure.

**Toxicity Profile**

Hematologic toxicities, particularly neutropenia, dominated the adverse event profile across clinical trials, though these were generally manageable with dose modifications.

| Study             | Grade 3/4 Neutropenia            | Grade 3/4 Other Cytopenias | Dose Modifications           | Non-Hematologic Toxicities    |
|-------------------|---------------------------------|-----------------------------|-------------------------------|------------------------------|
| Ma et al., 2017   | G3: 22%, G4: 4%                 | Leukopenia mentioned         | 14% required dose reductions  | Fatigue, rash; no G4+ non-hematologic AEs |
| Johnston et al., 2019 | Part of 49.8% G3+ toxicity    | Asymptomatic neutropenia primary cause | 21.6% interruptions/delays, 2.0% dose reductions | Not specified                |
| Turner et al., 2015 | 62.0%                          | Leukopenia 25.2%, anemia 2.6%, thrombocytopenia 2.3% | Discontinuation: 2.6% palbociclib, 1.7% placebo | Fatigue 2.0%; febrile neutropenia 0.6% |
| Vijayaraghavan et al., 2017 | 56%                        | Leukopenia 25.2%           | Higher doses (75-150 mg/kg) caused significant weight loss | Not specified; combination with HCQ well tolerated |
| DeMichele et al., 2014 | 51%                          | Anemia 5%, thrombocytopenia 22% | 51% dose reductions, 24% interruptions | Not mentioned; cytopenias uncomplicated and easily managed |

### Synthesis

The body of evidence reveals consistent mechanisms but variable clinical outcomes that require reconciliation. While palbociclib uniformly induced G1 cell cycle arrest across studies, the durability of this arrest and translation to clinical benefit varied substantially based on molecular context, treatment duration, and combination strategies.
