# What are spine procedure infection rates with plus sutures?

In spine procedures, one study found plus sutures had a 0.5% infection rate compared to 3.9% with standard sutures, though spine-specific data remains limited.

# Abstract

Seven studies reported infection outcomes using plus (triclosan-coated, impregnated, or containing) sutures in surgical settings. In spine procedures, Ueno et al. (2015) recorded an infection rate of 0.5% (1 in 200 patients) with triclosan-coated polyglactin 910 versus 3.9% (8 in 205 patients) with standard sutures (absolute reduction 3.4%, p = 0.020). In analyses encompassing mixed procedures, Edwards et al. (2023) observed a 29% risk reduction (relative risk 0.71, 95% confidence interval 0.64–0.79, p < 0.001) with plus sutures. Jalalzadeh et al. (2025) found plus suture infection rates of 12.1% compared with 14.7% for standard sutures (relative risk 0.75, 95% CI 0.65–0.86; number needed to treat = 40), and Scientific Surgery (2014) reported a relative risk of 0.73 (95% CI 0.59–0.91, p = 0.005). Chang et al. (2012) noted an odds ratio of 0.77 (95% CI 0.40–1.51, p = 0.45) that did not reach statistical significance, and two studies provided no spine-specific plus suture infection rates.

No significant adverse effects attributable to plus sutures were noted. The spine-specific data, though limited, indicate that plus sutures may lower infection rates compared with standard sutures.

## Methods

We analyzed 7 sources from an initial pool of 998, using 8 screening criteria. Each paper was reviewed for 5 key aspects that mattered most to the research question. More on methods.

Papers identified with Elicit search

n = 998

- Papers screened using: Spine Surgery Population, Antimicrobial Suture Use, Infection Outcomes, Human Clinical Data, Study Design, Infection Assessment, Data Extractability, Study Type and Detail

n = 998

- Papers screened out

n = 991

- Papers included for extraction

n = 7

## Data extraction

We asked a large language model to extract each data column below from each paper. We gave the model the extraction instructions shown below for each column.

- **Study Design**: Identify the specific type of study design (e.g., randomized controlled trial, quasi-experimental, prospective cohort).
- **Patient Population Characteristics**: Extract key patient demographic and clinical characteristics.
- **Suture Characteristics**: Describe specific suture details.
- **Infection Rates and Characteristics**: Extract comprehensive infection data.
- **Risk Factors and Statistical Analysis**: Identify key risk factors and statistical methods.

# Results

## Characteristics of Included Studies

| Study                                   | Study Design                                            | Spine Procedure Type                                                  | Sample Size | Plus Suture Type                                   | Full text retrieved |
|-----------------------------------------|--------------------------------------------------------|-----------------------------------------------------------------------|-------------|----------------------------------------------------|---------------------|
| Ueno et al., 2015                       | Retrospective, nonrandomized clinical study            | Spinal surgical procedures (not further specified)                   | 405         | Triclosan-coated polyglactin 910 (Vicryl Plus)   | No                  |
| Yaldiz et al., 2015                     | Retrospective analysis                                  | Posterior stabilization for degenerative lumbar stenosis with >2 levels of laminectomy and facetectomy | 540         | Prolene (no antimicrobial coating)                 | No                  |
| Edwards et al., 2023                   | Systematic review and meta-analysis of 31 randomized controlled trials | Mixed (includes spine, not isolated)                                | 13,754      | Triclosan-coated (various types)                  | Yes                 |
| Chang et al., 2012                     | Systematic review and meta-analysis of 7 randomized controlled trials | Mixed (not specified)                                             | 836         | Triclosan-impregnated (not specified)             | No                  |
| Castellà et al., 2019                  | Quasi-experimental pretest/posttest with historical control | Spinal surgery (disc herniation, stenosis, etc.)                    | 139         | No mention found                                   | Yes                 |
| Jalalzadeh et al., 2025                 | Systematic review and meta-analysis of 31 randomized controlled trials | Mixed (not specified)                                             | 17,968      | Triclosan-containing (no mention found)            | Yes                 |
| "Scientific Surgery,” 2014             | Meta-analysis of 13 trials                              | Mixed (not specified)                                             | 3,568       | Triclosan-coated (no mention found)                | No                  |

## Effects

### Infection Rates with Plus Sutures

| Study                                   | Plus Suture Infection Rate | Standard Suture Infection Rate | Risk Reduction                                                  |
|-----------------------------------------|-----------------------------|-------------------------------|--------------------------------------------------------------|
| Ueno et al., 2015                       | 0.5% (1/200)                | 3.9% (8/205)                   | Absolute reduction: 3.4%; p=0.020                            |
| Yaldiz et al., 2015                     | Not mentioned                | Not mentioned                   | Not mentioned                                                   |
| Edwards et al., 2023                   | Not isolated for spine       | Not mentioned                   | Relative risk 0.71 (95% CI 0.64–0.79), 29% reduction, p<0.001 |
| Chang et al., 2012                     | Not mentioned                | Not mentioned                   | Odds ratio 0.77 (95% CI 0.40–1.51), p=0.45                  |
| Castellà et al., 2019                  | Not mentioned                | Not mentioned                   | Not applicable                                                |
| Jalalzadeh et al., 2025                 | 12.1% (1,098/8,969)        | 14.7% (1,324/8,999)           | Relative risk 0.75 (95% CI 0.65–0.86), NNT = 40            |
| "Scientific Surgery," 2014             | Not mentioned                | Not mentioned                   | Relative risk 0.73 (95% CI 0.59–0.91), p=0.005              |

### Safety and Adverse Effects

- No significant adverse effects attributable to plus (triclosan-coated) sutures were noted in the included studies.

## Synthesis

- The findings suggest a potential advantage of using plus sutures over standard sutures in spine procedures, though the evidence remains limited and diverse in quality due to varying designs and populations across studies.
