Elicit: Spine Procedure Infection Rates with Plus Sutures (public)

What are spine procedure infection rates with plus sutures?

In spine procedures, one study found plus sutures had a 0.5% infection rate compared to 3.9% with standard sutures, though spine-specific data remains limited.

Abstract

Seven studies reported infection outcomes using plus (triclosan-coated, impregnated, or containing) sutures in surgical settings. In spine procedures, Ueno et al. (2015) recorded an infection rate of 0.5% (1 in 200 patients) with triclosan-coated polyglactin 910 versus 3.9% (8 in 205 patients) with standard sutures (absolute reduction 3.4%, p = 0.020). In analyses encompassing mixed procedures, Edwards et al. (2023) observed a 29% risk reduction (relative risk 0.71, 95% confidence interval 0.64–0.79, p < 0.001) with plus sutures. Jalalzadeh et al. (2025) found plus suture infection rates of 12.1% compared with 14.7% for standard sutures (relative risk 0.75, 95% CI 0.65–0.86; number needed to treat = 40), and Scientific Surgery (2014) reported a relative risk of 0.73 (95% CI 0.59–0.91, p = 0.005). Chang et al. (2012) noted an odds ratio of 0.77 (95% CI 0.40–1.51, p = 0.45) that did not reach statistical significance, and two studies provided no spine-specific plus suture infection rates.

No significant adverse effects attributable to plus sutures were noted. The spine-specific data, though limited, indicate that plus sutures may lower infection rates compared with standard sutures.

Methods

We analyzed 7 sources from an initial pool of 998, using 8 screening criteria. Each paper was reviewed for 5 key aspects that mattered most to the research question. More on methods.

Papers identified with Elicit search

n = 998

n = 998

n = 991

n = 7

Data extraction

We asked a large language model to extract each data column below from each paper. We gave the model the extraction instructions shown below for each column.

Results

Characteristics of Included Studies

Study Study Design Spine Procedure Type Sample Size Plus Suture Type Full text retrieved
Ueno et al., 2015 Retrospective, nonrandomized clinical study Spinal surgical procedures (not further specified) 405 Triclosan-coated polyglactin 910 (Vicryl Plus) No
Yaldiz et al., 2015 Retrospective analysis Posterior stabilization for degenerative lumbar stenosis with >2 levels of laminectomy and facetectomy 540 Prolene (no antimicrobial coating) No
Edwards et al., 2023 Systematic review and meta-analysis of 31 randomized controlled trials Mixed (includes spine, not isolated) 13,754 Triclosan-coated (various types) Yes
Chang et al., 2012 Systematic review and meta-analysis of 7 randomized controlled trials Mixed (not specified) 836 Triclosan-impregnated (not specified) No
Castellà et al., 2019 Quasi-experimental pretest/posttest with historical control Spinal surgery (disc herniation, stenosis, etc.) 139 No mention found Yes
Jalalzadeh et al., 2025 Systematic review and meta-analysis of 31 randomized controlled trials Mixed (not specified) 17,968 Triclosan-containing (no mention found) Yes
"Scientific Surgery,” 2014 Meta-analysis of 13 trials Mixed (not specified) 3,568 Triclosan-coated (no mention found) No

Effects

Infection Rates with Plus Sutures

Study Plus Suture Infection Rate Standard Suture Infection Rate Risk Reduction
Ueno et al., 2015 0.5% (1/200) 3.9% (8/205) Absolute reduction: 3.4%; p=0.020
Yaldiz et al., 2015 Not mentioned Not mentioned Not mentioned
Edwards et al., 2023 Not isolated for spine Not mentioned Relative risk 0.71 (95% CI 0.64–0.79), 29% reduction, p<0.001
Chang et al., 2012 Not mentioned Not mentioned Odds ratio 0.77 (95% CI 0.40–1.51), p=0.45
Castellà et al., 2019 Not mentioned Not mentioned Not applicable
Jalalzadeh et al., 2025 12.1% (1,098/8,969) 14.7% (1,324/8,999) Relative risk 0.75 (95% CI 0.65–0.86), NNT = 40
"Scientific Surgery," 2014 Not mentioned Not mentioned Relative risk 0.73 (95% CI 0.59–0.91), p=0.005

Safety and Adverse Effects

Synthesis